What the world needs now……..

I heard today that it is 5 weeks to christmas.  Wow.  With all the other crap going on I haven’t even given the time much thought….but there it is once again like clockwork. Strange how that happens.

So what’s new?

Well, I finally started an online Master’s in nursing program.  It’s a rather different experience but since I have become accustom to spending hours on the computer and being very self directed it works out well for me…so far. The APA format continues to be a challenge, but less so this time around.  Maybe I have less riding on this degree so I can not stress about everything, or maybe the university is not quite the APA nazis the faculty of nursing is at the UofA. I am so glad that I didn’t get accepted to the U – I’d be putting up with their crap by now instead of actually enjoying the classes and learning something. I recommend Walden university to anyone wondering about an online degree.

What else?  Well I have been relived of my wonderful position in the picu looking after all the quality and safety issues. Seems the money is needed for another position – the one it was originally designated for but couldn’t find an appropriate candidate.  I am not an appropriate candidate even though I have been doing the job for the past year because I don’t have the right paper. It’s all about the paper, never about the experience or the ability to do the job. Even though I was told that when I was accepted into a master’s program I could apply for the position.  Seems someone else who is closer to being finished her masters is seen as a better person for the position.

Pissed me right off. Apparently I can’t get the necessary education soon enough so I have been booted to the kerb.

I am so over it though. Looking onward to better things.  Actually looking at what is going on in picu I think I am better out of it.  Too much lack of leadership and too much control issues. I prefer a much more open system where chaos is allowed to structure order rather than someone trying to impose order. The manager types there don’t seem to get it quite yet that a different approach is needed.  Information must be shared openly and widely instead of squirreled away and dispensed in little bits. 

JD got his box of snowscrappers this week.  He was really pleased with them.  Apparently scrapping the windows in Kabul is necessary so I sent him 6 scrappers – 3 small hand ones and 3 longer windshield ones. Along with coffee and crackers, it got there fairly quickly.  I’ll have to send another one before christmas so he has at least some fresh coffee and chocolate to share around the non-existent tree.  I wonder if they can have a tree?  Wouldn’t that be offensive and seen as idol worshipping by the lunatics?

The video all over the news this week is the clip of the guy in the Vancouver airport who wandered around trying to find his way out for 10 hours and was finally tazared by the RCMP and died immediately.  I have to wonder though if there is no training given to not only the RCMP but the airport personnel about recognizing someone who is ill, cause just watching the guy you could tell he was sick.  Dehydrated, agitated and distraught and yet no one seemed to think to find a translator.  Worse his mother was there for hours trying to find him and the airport staff she approached were unhelpful and dismissed her concerns. Too many issues happened to just blame the RCMP.  If they take the fall then everyone at the airport better be also cast in the same net.

Leave a Reply

